• Our Partners:

About Northern

The Northern Region consists of 54 First Nations communities; in which each community elects their own First Nations Chief based on their own selection process.

In the creation of the Northern Regional Caucus, the Leadership geographically created three Sub-Regional Groups: North East Sub-Region, North West Sub-Region and the North Central Sub-Region.  The Sub-Groups together created the First Nations Northern Regional Health Caucus, which represented 54 communities in the North.  Each Sub-Region governed their work through Terms of References and their own selection process for appointing their FNHC Representative.

Through the Northern Regional Caucus, political and technical leaders in heath work together to involve First Nations leadership in the planning and monitoring of health services that impact First Nations communities in the North.

Sub-RegionFNHC Representative Member Communities
North EastBev LambertBlueberry River First Nation, Doig River First Nation, Fort Nelson First Nation, Halfway River First Nation, Saulteau First Nation, Tsaa Tse K’Nai First Nation , West Moberly Lake First Nations
North Central Warner Adam Burns Lake Band, Cheslatta Carrier Nation, Kwadacha Nation, Lake Babine Nation, Lheidli T’enneh, McLeod Lake, Nadleh Whuten, Nak’azdli Band, Nazko, Nee-Tahi-Buhn Band, Saik’uz First Nation, Skin Tyee Nation, Stellat’en First Nation, Takla Lake First Nation, Tl’azt’en Nation, Tsay Keh Dene, Wet’suwet’en First Nation, Yekooche.

Belong to an Interior Regional Hub:
• ?Esdilagh Indian Band
• Lhoosk’uz Dene Government (Kluskus)
• Lhatko Dene
North West Marie QuockDaylu Dena Council, Dease River Band Council, Gingolx, Gitanmaax, Gitanyow, Gitga'at First Nation, Gitlaxt’aamiks, Gitsegukla, Gitwangak, Gitwinksihlkw, Gitxaala Nation, Hagwilget Village, Haisla Nation, Iskut, Kispiox, Kitselas Band Council, Kitsumkalum Band, Laxgalt’sap, Lax Kw’alaams First Nation, Metlakatla Indian Band, Moricetown, Old Massett Village Council, Sik-e-dakh Village, Skidegate Band, Tahltan Nation, Taku River Tlingit First Nation.

The 54 Northern Communities


Governance Documents:

Northern Regional Caucus Terms of Reference and Sub-Regional Terms of Reference

Northern Partnership Accord

Read more about the Northern Regions’ geography, population, communities and health organisations on the FNHA website here.