Canada Announces $8.2 Billion Funding Agreement with FNHA Click Here


The Interior Region consists of 51 First Nations communities which vary in size and include a number of small and isolated communities. Each community elects their own First Nations Chief based on their own selection process.


The First Nations leadership of this region formed the Interior Region Health Caucus, which represents these 54 communities within 7 Nations, and serves as an engagement forum for the political leadership (Chiefs) and technical leaders (Health Directors or leads) to engage with each other for planning, priority setting and decision-making related to health matters. The Interior is home to the 7 Nations of Dãkelh Dené, Ktunaxa, Nlaka’pamux, Secwepemc, St’át’imc, Syilx and Tsilhqot’in.


FNHC representatives work with the Interior Region Caucus on health and wellness priorities at Caucus events and beyond. The following infograph illustrates the current Interior Region governance structure.


The 7 Nations have developed an Interior Region Nation Executive, which is comprised of one representative from each of the 7 Nations and, through the Caucus, appoint their three representatives to the Health Council.

(Wenecwtsin) Wayne Christian
Deputy Chair
Secwepemc Nation, Interior Region
Ko’waintco Michel
Nlaka’pamux, Interior Region
Allan Louis
Syilx Nation, Interior Region

Regional Structure

The table acts as an Executive body to the Interior Region Caucus, carrying out directions in between Caucus sessions. The following provides a description on the Interior Region Governance structure today.

54 Communities
  • Lhoosk'uz Dene’ Nation*
  • Lhtako Dene Nation*
  • Nazko First Nation
  • Ulkatcho Indian Band
  • Akisq'nuk First Nation
  • Lower Kootenay Indian Band
  • St. Mary's Indian Band
  • Tobacco Plains Indian Band
  • ?Esdilagh*
  • Tl’esqox
  • Tl'etinqox Government
  • Tsi Del Del, Yunesit'in Government
  • Xeni Gwet'in First Nation Government
  • Lower Similkameen Indian Band
  • Okanagan Indian Band
  • Osoyoos Indian Band
  • Penticton Indian Band
  • Upper Nicola Band
  • Upper Similkameen Indian Band
  • Westbank First Nation
  • Xwisten
  • Sekw’el’was
  • Tsalahh
  • Tsal’alh
  • Xaxli’p
  • Adams Lake Indian Band
  • Bonaparte Indian Band
  • Canim Lake Indian Band
  • Esketemc First Nation
  • High Bar Band
  • Little Shuswap Indian Band
  • Neskonlith Indian Band
  • Stswecem’c Xgat’tem
  • Shuswap Indian Band
  • Simpcw First Nation
  • Skeetchestn Indian Band
  • Splatsin
  • T'kemlups Indian Band
  • Whispering Pines/Clinton First Nations
  • Williams Lake Indian Band
  • Xatsull First Nation
  • Ashcroft Indian Band+
  • Coldwater Indian Band
  • Cooks Ferry
  • Kanaka Bar Indian Band
  • Lower Nicola Indian Band
  • Lytton First Nation
  • Nicomen Indian Band
  • Nooaitch
  • Oregon Jack Creek
  • Shackan
  • Siska
  • Skuppah Indian Band
  • (Ts'kw'aylaxw First Nation)
Seven Nation Territories
  • Dãkelh Dene
  • Ktunaxa
  • Tsilhqot’in
  • Syilx
  • St'át'imc
  • Secwepemc
  • Nlaka’pamux
Interior First Nations Health Caucus


Dãkelh Dené

Executive: Zach Parker


Executive: to be determined


Executive: Ko’waintco Michel


Executive: Kukpi7 Wayne Christian


Executive: Chief Courteney Adolph-Jones


Executive: Allan Louis


Executive: Doreen William-Grinder

Regional Priorities

Each region specifies its priorities aligned with the 7 Directives that guide the work of our Health Governance Structure.

  1. Governance and Decision-Making

  2. Strengthening Partnerships

  3. Nation Shared Service Delivery

Regional Documents

Regional documents signify major strides on the path to First Nations reconciliation and self determination. Documents specific to the Interior Region are listed below.

Health and Wellness plans

Interior Regional Health and Wellness Plan (2019)

Download PDF

The Regional Health and Wellness Plan outlines the Interior Region's strategic health priorities.

Partnership Agreements

Interior Parternship Accord (2019)

Download PDF

The Partnership Accord describes the relationship amongst the Interior Regional Health Caucus, Interior Health and First Nations Health Authority, and their shared commitment to improving health outcomes for Interior First Nations.